I recently came across this article on Jezebel: http://jezebel.com/5889669/only-assholes-say-you-wont-sleep-with-them-unless-theyre-assholes/
I thought a really interesting part was: If they then themselves mistreat women, they are not doing it out of any defect in their natures, but out of a rational strategy for improving their mating odds. It is women themselves who have made these rules, these guys claim with varying degrees of sincerity; we fellas just have to adapt as best we can. Bad male behavior gets cunningly reframed as an evolutionary adaptation to female desire — and the blame for everything falls once again on the shoulders (and hearts, and libidos) of women who don't know (or won't admit) the truth.
There is such a big stereotype that girls don't like nice guys. How, though can men use this as a valid excuse to be a jerk? Does this also come from certain men being subordinated (ex: the geeks)?
I think this is a really interesting point to bring up. Last year in my "Love Marriage and the experience of being a wife class" we learned about male attitudes and attractiveness and learned that men who act more like jerks present qualities that seem more masculine (assertiveness, strength, power ... etc) that make them seem like valuable mates in terms of sexual attractiveness because those who display more masculine qualities have a better chance at being able to reproduce successfully.
ReplyDelete